Home Page

Members of the DSPL4 team

The DSPL has a management committee made up of local stakeholders including headteachers, SENCOs, local authority representatives and parents. The current members of the management committee are:



Ruth Bamlett (Headteacher, Millbrook School)

Heather Boardman (Headteacher, Hailey Hall School)


Janet Bourne (Headteacher, Rivers ESC)

Sue Camp (Headteacher Forres School, DSPL4 lead)


Nicky Chaperlin (Parent rep)

Nicky is one of DSPL4's parent representatives on both the management committee and the Autism working party. She has 2 children, one of whom has a diagnosis of Autism and ADHD and is educated in a mainstream school in the DSPL area. She has a teaching background and worked for 10 years in Hertfordshire with children and young people with Special Educational Needs.

Nicky is one of the ladies that manages and hosts the parent/carer support group SPACE (Supporting Parents of Autistic/ADHD Children in East Herts and beyond).

Her role is to bring the voice of the parent/carer to the management committee.


Di Gollege (SENCO, Fairfields School)


Claire Hallett (DSPL4 Development Manager)

Claire started her career as an accountant working for the Education Dept at Herts County Council and then worked as Director of Finance for a national charity. After taking a career break to have children, she started a tourism business with her husband, taking it from start up to becoming a thriving business.


Claire has 3 children, 2 of whom have additional needs. She has personal experience of good and bad SEND provision and is passionate about improving the outcomes for children with additional needs and ensuring that parents are supported. She has volunteered for a number of local SEND support groups and charities, been a parent rep on another DSPL group, worked as a 1-1 SEN TA and been a Governor at 2 schools. 

Gemma Hilton - Herts Regional College

Jane Howard (Parent representative)

Jane has been a parent representative on the committee since 2013. She has one daughter with Sturge Weber Syndrome which involves complex medical needs and learning delay. She attends a mainstream primary school within DSPL4 and has an EHCP.


Jane is a secondary school teacher in Essex. Her role on the management committee is to put forward the parent's voice.


Claire Murray (Broxbourne East Children's centre)

Claire is the Early years Specialist at Broxbourne East Children's centre. Having previously spent more years than she cares to remember as a Foundation Stage teacher, and having just seen the last of her 3 children leave home, she now focuses on supporting parents and settings to ensure all children have the best opportunities to learn. She has a particular interest in early Speech and Language development and mental health and emotional well being.

Sue Pressney (SENCO, Goffs Secondary)


Ann Ricketts (Integrated Services for Learning)

Nikki Smith (Little Learners pre-school)

Nikki has 2 teenage daughters aged 13 and 16. She has a BA hons in Early Years and has managed Little Learners pre-school (a PVI) in Waltham Cross since it opened 6 years ago. She has extensive experience of working in childcare, health and education settings, as well as nannying. 


In the last 6 years, Nikki has built up her knowledge of various SEN issues by supporting children and families on their journeys. She has a particular interest in Autism and Speech and Language and sits on both of these working parties, as well as on the management committee



Sarah Vickers (Head of Inclusion at St Mary's High)

Sarah has experience of working in the field of Inclusion in three secondary school in East Herts. She has additional qualifications in Dyslexia, Dyscalculia and ASD. Prior to this, she worked in Primary schools co-ordinating literacy and as a secondary English teacher. She has an adult son who has a high level of additional needs.

Sarah's involvement in DSPL4 has been to represent the secondary aged students in DSPL4 to ensure coverage of provision and support for high needs students. She is on the Autism working party and St Mary's will be working towards ASD accreditation over the next few years. She initiated and organised the Student Voice conference in November 2015 to enable students in DSPL4 with high need to explain what kind of support they would like.

Claire Wilkinson (SENCO, Haileybury Turnford)


Chris Russell (DSPL4, SEND Lead)

Chris has over 13 years experience working with children with disabilities. He started his career volunteering at a local play scheme before branching out into family support and schools. Chris currently works as the Autism Lead for Forres Primary school as well as his role as the Primary SEND Lead for DSPL4. Chris has recently played a large part in getting Forres Primary to be the 3rd Mainstream School to be accredited by the National Autistic Society.


Chris’ role is to develop and deliver a consistent, coordinated quality response across all schools and educational settings, in order to improve the support and outcomes for children and young people with SEND and their parents, regardless of having a diagnosis or EHC plan.